About

The laboratory was founded in 1951. Professor L. T. Zagorulko was its first Head, Professor Glezer guided the Laboratory in 1960–1987 and since 1988 it is headed by Professor Yu. E. Shelepin.

Сотрудники лаборатории физиологии зрения в актовом зале института физиологии им. И.П. Павлова

Members of the Laboratory in the main conference hall of the Pavlov Institute

The Laboratory concentrates on studies of physiological mechanisms underlying processing of spatial information and on modeling main visual algorithms of processing of natural images.

In the 1950s, the Laboratory team mainly studied eye movements, pupil and lens accommodation processes. This study was a part of Pavlovian investigation of the visual system as an analyzer of surrounding world. In 1960s a new approach was developed which considered vision as information processing mechanism. New approach generated a model in which the visual system was represented by a set of parallel channels. Each channel processes different kind of information about an object. In 1970s, neurophysiological experiments resulted in a model in which the visual system was considered as a Fournier analyzer performing local transformation of an object. The basis for such analysis constituted cortical receptive fields. This work was important for construction of digital television systems and algorithms of information compression in video information processing. In 1980-1990, a model of invariant description of objects by visual cortical modules was proposed.

In 1990s, the Laboratory started new studies of algorithms of perception natural scenes from the point of view of the theory of information processing. This approach allowed studying various aspects of visual perception using one unified approach. During past decades such approach resulted in experimental and theoretical work covering wide area of vision research. Of a particular laboratory interest were factors limiting perception of information of surrounding world, algorithms of the visual scene segmentation and object identification, studies of crowding effects using coloured tests, measures of contrast sensitivity of the human visual system to the tests of different spatial frequency presented on noisy backgrounds in normal subjects and in patients with various ophthalmological and neurological diseases. A model of match filtering in the human visual system has been proposed and successfully tested in experiments requiring figure-noise segregation. This model allows to measure visual efficiency in detection and recognition of visual images. Ergonomic standards for working with displays were developed. New methods of measuring contrast sensitivity (visiocontrastometry), vision acuity, and methods of measuring the level of internal noise in the human visual system became standard methods in ophthalmological institutions.

In its research the Laboratory uses modern technology to generate visual stimuli, process experimental results and modeling which allows to carry psychophysical, psychophysiological, ergonomic and neuroophthalmologic studies at the level accepted by world vision research society. Apart from fundamental problems of vision physiology, the Laboratory, in cooperation with Russian and foreign institutions, takes active part in solving practical tasks in information processing technologies, metrology, aviation and space technology, and medicine (ophthalmology, neurology, psychiatry).

During last years the Laboratory, in cooperation with the University of the Aerospace Apparatus Construction, Military Medical Academy, Cambridge and St. Petersburg Universities, as well as with other Laboratories of this Institute, continues the interdisciplinary research involving cognitive psychology, resistance of the visual system to noise, interaction of various brain areas in perception, architecture of the binocular visual system.

On the basis of the Laboratory, the regular Interdisciplinary Seminar « Physiology of vision and iconic » gathers scientists of practically all leading laboratories in the world-wide field of vision research.

О Лаборатории

Лаборатория создана в 1951 г. под руководством проф. Л. Т. Загорулько. В 1960–1987 гг. лабораторию возглавлял проф. В. Д. Глезер, а с 1988 г. ею руководит проф. Ю. Е. Шелепин.

IMG_5250

Основное направление работ лаборатории заключается в комплексном исследовании физиологических механизмов и моделировании основных алгоритмов обработки в зрительном анализаторе пространственно-временной информации об окружающем мире.

В 1950-х гг. исследования лаборатории были направлены на изучение моторных компонентов зрения: зрачковой, конвергенционной и аккомодационной реакции, фиксационных скачков глаз, а также было начато исследование механизмов переработки информации в зрительном анализаторе. В 1960-е гг. лабораторией была предложена и развита модель параллельных каналов зрительной системы, обеспечивающих переработку различной информации об объекте. В 1970-е гг. развита модель локального Фурье-преобразования в рецептивных полях зрительной коры. Эти работы имели важное значение для развития систем цифрового телевидения, разработки алгоритмов сжатия видеоинформации. В 1980–1990 гг. создана модель инвариантного описания формы изображений системой модулей зрительной коры, проведены исследования зрения как конкретного предметного мышления и моделирование алгоритмов описания зрительного мира в нейронных сетях.

В 1990-е гг. начато изучение взаимосвязи оптических и информационных свойств изображения и алгоритмов восприятия натуральных сцен, факторов, ограничивающих восприятие информации об окружающем мире, и условий возникновения иллюзий и галлюцинаций. Исследованы алгоритмы сегментации зрительной сцены и выделения объекта из фона, механизмы обнаружения объектов на фоне флуктуирующей помехи, механизмы контрастной чувствительности зрительной системы человека в норме и при патологии. Развита модель согласованной фильтрации в зрительной системе человека. Создана система тестов для клинической диагностики поражений зрительного анализатора, для оценки зрения грудных детей, для профессионального отбора. Разработаны стандарты работы с дисплеями. Новые методы измерения контрастной чувствительности (визоконтрастометрия), остроты зрения, методы измерения уровня внутреннего шума зрительного анализатора стали достоянием офтальмологических учреждений.

Соответствующее аппаратно-программное обеспечение позволяет лаборатории проводить психофизические, психофизиологические, эргономические и нейроофтальмологические исследования. Кроме фундаментальных проблем физиологии зрения, лаборатория совместно с рядом отечественных и зарубежных организаций (Институт телевидения, Государственный оптический институт, Военно-медицинская академия, фирма «Филипс», Европейское бюро ВВС США) принимает активное участие в решении практических задач техники – информационные технологии, метрология, авиационная и космическая техника, наземный транспорт; и медицины – офтальмология, неврология, психиатрия.

В последние годы лаборатория в содружестве с Университетом аэрокосмического приборостроения, Военно-медицинской академией, Университет ИТМО, Кембриджским и Санкт-Петербургским университетами, с лабораториями Института физиологии им. И. П. Павлова РАН продолжает междисциплинарные исследования в области когнитивной психологии, помехоустойчивости зрительной системы, взаимодействия различных областей мозга в процессе восприятия, архитектуры бинокулярной зрительной системы.

На базе лаборатории работает межведомственный семинар «Физиология зрения и нейроиконика», участниками которого являются ученые практически всех лидирующих в этой области лабораторий мира.